Home Page



 The computing curriculum covers three areas:


  • Computer Science (CS)

  • Information Technology (IT)

  • Digital Literacy (which includes eSafety) (DL)




Understand what algorithms are; how they are implemented as programs on digital devices; and that programs execute by following precise and unambiguous instructions.


Create and debug simple programs.


Use logical reasoning to predict the behaviour of simple programs.



Design, write and debug programs that accomplish specific goals, including controlling or stimulating physical systems; solve problems by decomposing them into smaller parts.


Use sequence, selection, and repetition in programs; work with variables and various forms of input and output


Use logical reasoning to explain how some simple algorithms work and to detect and correct errors in algorithms and programs.


Understand computer networks including the internet; how they can provide multiple services, such as the World Wide Web.


Appreciate how [search] results are selected and ranked. 

ITUse technology purposefully to create, organise, store, manipulate and retrieve digital content.

Use search technologies effectively.


Select, use and combine a variety of software (including internet sevices) on a range of digital devices to design and create a range of programs, systems and content that accomplish given goals, including collecting, analysing, evaluating and presenting data and information. 


Recognise common uses of information technology beyond school.


Use technology safely and respectfully, keeping personal information private; identify where to go for help and support when they have concerns about content or contact on the internet or other online technologies. 

Understand the opportunities [networks] offer for communication and collaboration.


Be discerning in evaluating digital content.


Use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly; recognise acceptable/unacceptable behaviour; identify a range of ways to report concerns about content and contact. 


National Curriculum Computing